Lil Wayne = Girl positive?

5 Dec

My dad tries to keep me up to date on pop culture that might be relevant to my social networking, so he pointed out this article in the NYTimes about Beth Ditto, who also lives in Portland and is The Gossip.

I have never actually seen\heard The Gossip, because I feel fine “knowing about” bands without actually seeing\listening to them, but I did read an article about Beth Ditto in the Believer so I know that Beth Ditto is rad, and a lesbian. As such, I was sort of surprised by this:

NYTIMES. Lil Wayne is not necessarily lady-friendly, though.

BETH DITTO. No, but he’s such an artist, and he’s obsessed with [performing oral sex]. I think that’s really cool and really girl-positive in a way. I think for hip-hop that’s really rad…I would say that “Tha Carter III” is one of my favorite albums.

I think that Beth Ditto is trying to get at how much Lil Wayne and the feminist movement have in common. For example:  If I, as a young womyn, were to apply for a job as a CEO or Corporate Attorney, I would encounter obstacles because of my gender. Lil Wayne would encounter similar obstacles because he doesn’t wear a shirt and is always high.


I wish I could fuck every girl in the world
I wish I could fuck every girl in the world
I wish I could fuck every girl in the world
I wish I could fuck every girl in the world

-Lil Wayne, Every Girl

3 Responses to “Lil Wayne = Girl positive?”

  1. JP December 9, 2009 at 12:33 am #

    as a man I concur….to all if not ALL of it..

  2. midgeblogs December 9, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    JP: It’s really helpful to hear a male perspective on this really complicated issue. Together, we will figure it out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Considering Snoop Dogg as a potential new roommate « HORSE FACTS - January 20, 2010

    […] like to become friends-with-benefits with him. Snoop smokes the most weed, maybe even more than Lil Wayne, and he loves the same movies as me. The girl wanna do it, I just might do it Here to walk wit some […]

Leave a Reply

