Trends in Fashion Summer 2011

11 Mar

Trend #1: Banglessness. I am thinking about growing my bangs out, even at risk of revealing my way noble brow/enormous forehead. My feeling is that bangs represented a more innocent, pre-Obama time in American History, whereas now that we are all too po’ to get our bangs trimmed regularly.

This summer is going to be all about foreheads, and abs.

Trend #2: I can’t think of any other fashion trends right now. I guess I would like to predict that bangs come back in for fall 2011.

Trend #3: “Post-racist-racist” cultural appropriation. Instead of getting all offended about the kind of outfits you see when you enter keywords like “ethnic” or “poncho” into Etsy, in Summer 2011 we will all just chill and get our bangs trimmed, if that’s the most flattering thing to our face shape. And wear tribal ponchos without everyone being all “That seems like an unintentionally ironic statement about smallpox blankets.”

Trend #4: Pajama Jeans. I saw an infomercial about these while I was at the gym, working on my abs. At first I was like, “Why would I want pajamas that look like jeans?” But then I thought of like a hundred scenarios in which that would come in handy. For example: If your house is on fire, and you run outside, ordinarily everyone is all “Hahaha! Your pajamas are hilarious! How embarrassing!” But with Pajama Jeans, the joke would be on them.

4 Responses to “Trends in Fashion Summer 2011”

  1. pony March 11, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Notes on the pajama jeans:
    1. I like how curvy the women in the ad are.
    2a) I like that one could potentially fall asleep on a couch in these jeans.
    2b) I think they could be really good for sluts or drunks (who often sleep in their street clothes).
    3. Are they yoga jeggings?

  2. midgeblogs March 11, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Pony, a problem with using these pants as yoga jeggings is that your instructor might send you home for wearing “street clothes” to class. Bout to ask Jebrod whether pajama jeans are street clothes; stay tuned for his thoughts.

  3. midgeblogs March 11, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Also, pajama jeans size XS is a “4” or “28 inch waist.” SO curve-friendly.

  4. lr sradnick March 27, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    i would do anything for that grey crewneck tee.

    jebrod should be the distracted andy richter of this blog.

Leave a Reply

